Image of About us

The Council of Mayors was created and authorized by the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning Policy Committee for the purpose of:

  • Providing input into the region’s transportation policy decisions.
  • Facilitating communication between local governments and the regional transportation agencies.
  • Establishing the priorities for the local STP program and to implement programmed projects.

When it was first formed in October 1965, the Council of Mayors was basically comprised of Cook and DuPage Counties. Now the Council of Mayors encompasses the boundaries of the “six plus” county MPO region and has 272 suburban municipalities.

These cities and villages are organized into eleven sub regional councils of mayors, which meet on locally determined schedules. Each of these sub regional councils appoints two mayors to serve on the regional Council of Mayors policy board, known as The Council of Mayors Executive Committee.

The Council of Mayors is generally thought of as the suburban component of the MPO. Indeed, it was originally formed for the purpose of gaining suburban input to complement input from the city of Chicago, the counties, and the other transportation providers and implementers that sit on the CMAP Policy and CMAP Board (the MPO’s highest decision-making bodies). The mayor of Chicago is encouraged to be involved with the Council of Mayors Executive Committee. The Executive Committee agendas are sent to the city of Chicago. The participation of both Chicago and suburban local governments is an essential component to developing a successful program.

The McHenry County Council of Mayors currently has 29 municipalities that are members of the council. The municipalities include:

  • Village of Algonquin
  • Village of Barrington Hills
  • Village of Bull Valley
  • Village of Cary
  • City of Crystal Lake
  • Village of Fox River Grove
  • Village of Greenwood
  • City of Harvard
  • Village of Hebron
  • Village of Holiday Hills
  • Village of Huntley
  • Village of Johnsburg
  • Village of Lake in the Hills
  • Village of Lakemoor
  • Village of Lakewood
  • City of Marengo
  • Village of McCullom Lake
  • City of McHenry
  • Village of Oakwood Hills
  • Village of Port Barrington
  • Village of Prairie Grove
  • Village of Richmond
  • Village of Ringwood
  • Village of Spring Grove
  • Village of Trout Valley
  • Village of Union
  • Village of Wonder Lake
  • City of Woodstock
  • McHenry County