MCHENRY COUNTY COUNCIL OF MAYORS MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, July 23, 2020

9:00 AM

Mental Health Board/Virtual Meeting 620 Dakota St, Crystal Lake, IL 60012 Conference call phone number: 815-788-4414; Participant ID 8872857#

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Mack called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m.

A. Roll Call/Introductions (Sign-In Sheet)
 The meeting had a quorum (minimum of 7 members).

Council Members Present:

- 1. City of Harvard Dave Nelson (via phone)
- 2. Village of Huntley Tim Farrell
- 3. Village of Johnsburg Claudett Sofiakis
- 4. Village of Lakewood Jeannine Smith (via phone)
- 5. City of McHenry Troy Strange
- 6. Village of Ringwood Rick Mack, Chair
- 7. Village of Spring Grove Mike Lee
- 8. McHenry County Scott Hennings

Staff Present:

1. McHenry County Council of Mayors – Emily Daucher, Planning Liaison

Others Present:

- 1. McHenry County DOT Ryan Peterson
- 2. CMAP Kama Dobbs
- 3. CMAP Mary Weber
- 4. Pace Mary L. Donner
- 5. IDOT Katie Herdus
- 6. Tollway Lauren Platt

2. MINUTES APPROVAL

Approval of the minutes for the June 19, 2020, McHenry County Council of Mayors meeting. A motion was made by Mr. Farrell seconded by Mr. Strange to approve the minutes as presented. The motion carried unanimously. A list of the votes can be found on the last page.

3. PROGRAM & AGENCY UPDATES

A. IDOT Highway Report – Katie Herdus

Ms. Herdus informed the Council that the new IDOT MYP had been released that morning.

- B. Pace Report Mary Donner
 Ms. Donner discussed ridership statistics, saying that ridership was still down for
 Pace. She also announced the new Pace website.
- C. Metra Update Rick Mack

Chairman Mack also noted that ridership on Metra was down as a result of many employees still working from home. There were 279,000 riders per day, which dropped to 6,000, but was increasing. Chairman Mack also discussed a dispute between Union Pacific and Metra, and that Metra was looking to take over UP stations and capital, as well as employees.

- D. McHenry County Division of Transportation Update Scott Hennings Mr. Hennings introduced new Transportation Planner, Ryan Peterson.
- E. RTA Update Andy Plummer Not present, no report.
- F. Illinois Tollway Update Lauren Platt
 Ms. Platt provided a handout with the Tollway updates and explained that the Tollway was still operating under a cashless system due to COVID-19.
- G. IDOT STP Local Program Update IDOT Staff Not present, handout provided.
- H. CMAP Report and Council of Mayors Executive Committee Report CMAP staff
 Ms. Dobbs told the Council that CMAP was moving to the Old Post Office in Chicago.
 She also informed the Council that the STP Project Selection Committee was still
 meeting regularly and that the ITEP Call for Projects opens August 21.

4. SUMMARY OF STP-L PUBLIC COMMENTS

Ms. Daucher gave an overview of the public comments received during the June 20-July 20 public comment period. There were 66 public comments received for the Winn Road project in Spring Grove. Ms. Daucher reported on the content of these emails. There was one comment each for the following projects: Prospect Street in Marengo, Green Street in McHenry, and the Cary/Main Roundabout in Algonquin. This was the first time the STP-L program had held a public comment period.

Mr. Lee commented that he and the Village were very appreciative of Ms. Daucher and the Council. The Village wanted residents to have a voice in the process and show support. Winn Road is in disrepair and the full \$1.5 million would go a long way in completing the work. The \$480,000 awarded would not allow that project to start. The Village does not want to take funds from other villages, but was talking about the methodology. The hope was that all communities could get one project funded. Winn Road is a major thoroughfare, and the improvements would help the entire County. Mr. Lee requested that the Council provide the full \$1.5 million award to the project.

Chairman Mack expressed that he wanted balance in the program between small and large communities. This is a new program and process from previous years. Communities were

limited to two projects for this Call. He informed the Council that there will be a lessons learned for the next Call for Projects and was happy that many small communities were able to get funding.

Ms. Sofiakis stated that all the projects in the program are important. Unfortunately, there's not sufficient funding for all of them, which is why we rank projects. The Village of Johnsburg is investing significant amounts of its own money into infrastructure. Ms. Sofiakis wanted the program approved as recommended.

Mr. Peterson noted that communities can seek other funding sources.

Ms. Daucher talked about active reprogramming and encouraged communities to apply in the next Call for Projects. She also urged members to participate in the Methodology Review Committee next year.

Mr. Lee appreciated the work put in and noted that the Village is hoping to improve community infrastructure.

Ms. Dobbs agreed with everything that was said and agreed that there will be opportunities to close the funding gap.

There was a motion by Ms. Smith to approve the program as recommended, seconded by Mr. Strange. The motion carried unanimously. A list of the votes can be found on the last page.

5. PLANNING LIAISON REPORT

Ms. Daucher reported that the PL contract was not yet ready for approval and that the bike plan was moving forward.

6. OTHER BUSINESS / ANNOUNCEMENTS

Ms. Smith thanked the DOT for helping local communities.

7. NEXT MEETING DATE AND LOCATION

Chairman Mack recommended skipping the next meeting, meaning the next COM meeting will be November 19, 2020 at 9am.

8. ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Mack adjourned the meeting at 9:50 a.m.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Name	Community	Vote
Dave Nelson	Harvard	Approve
Tim Farrell	Huntley	Approve
Claudett Sofiakis	Johnsburg	Approve
Jeannine Smith	Lakewood	Approve
Troy Strange	McHenry	Approve
Rick Mack, Chair	Ringwood	Approve
Mike Lee	Spring Grove	Approve
Scott Hennings	McHenry County	Approve

APPROVAL OF THE STP-L STAFF RECOMMENDED PROGRAM

Name	Community	Vote
Dave Nelson	Harvard	Approve
Tim Farrell	Huntley	Approve
Claudett Sofiakis	Johnsburg	Approve
Jeannine Smith	Lakewood	Approve
Troy Strange	McHenry	Approve
Rick Mack, Chair	Ringwood	Approve
Mike Lee	Spring Grove	Approve
Scott Hennings	McHenry County	Approve