

MCHENRY COUNTY COUNCIL OF MAYORS BYLAWS

Adopted: November 17, 2016

McHenry County Council of Mayors 16111 Nelson Road Woodstock, Illinois 60098 Phone: 815-334-4960

Fax: 815-334-4989

Original Adoption: May 7, 1992

Revisions:

December 1, 1994 November 16, 2000 December 3, 2007 June 25, 2008 September 10, 2009 November 18, 2010 March 20, 2014 November 17, 2016

ARTICLE I - NAME, PURPOSE

The name of this organization is the McHenry County Council of Mayors (hereinafter "Council").

The purpose of the Council is to program Surface Transportation Program (hereinafter "STP") federal funding and to review and evaluate transportation issues affecting McHenry County and McHenry County area municipalities.

ARTICLE II - MEMBERSHIP

The Council shall be composed of McHenry County and municipalities with residents within McHenry County. Additionally, one or more adjacent counties who elect to participate in the Council and have indicated their choice to the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (hereinafter "CMAP"). CMAP is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (hereinafter "MPO") for northeastern Illinois.

The members of the Council are pursuant to the attached Appendix A - Council Member List.

McHenry County's/County(s) representative shall be the County Engineer or his/her designated representative. A municipal representative shall be an elected mayor/president or his/her appointed municipal representative. All representatives must be county/municipal officials or employees. Each member is allowed one (1) voting member and two (2) alternate voting members.

ARTICLE III - STAFF

The primary staff for the Council is the Planning Liaison (hereinafter "PL"). The PL will handle all Council business and coordination with CMAP and the Illinois Department of Transportation (hereinafter "IDOT"). The McHenry County Division of Transportation will employ and administer the PL.

ARTICLE IV - OFFICERS

The officers of the Council are a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, and a Secretary. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman shall be elected at the regularly scheduled May Council meeting in odd numbered years. In the event that the Council does not meet in May, the Chairman and Vice-Chairman shall be elected at the next regularly scheduled Council meeting. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman must be a municipal mayor or president. Officers may serve consecutive terms.

ARTICLE V - DUTIES OF OFFICERS

Chairman: The Chairman shall preside at all Council meetings and shall appoint subcommittees as necessary.

Vice-Chairman: In the absence of the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman shall assume the duties of the Chairman. In the event of the resignation of the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman shall fill the unexpired term of the Chairman and a new Vice-Chairman shall be elected to fill the unexpired term of the Vice-Chairman.

Secretary: The PL shall serve as secretary and shall compile Council meeting agendas, prepare and distribute Council meeting notices and Council meeting minutes.

ARTICLE VI - AGENDAS

Any member of the Council or applicable government agency may submit items to be heard and discussed by the Council as part of the published Council meeting agenda. All meeting agenda items must be submitted to the secretary a minimum of fifteen (15) days prior to the regularly scheduled Council meeting.

ARTICLE VII - MEETINGS

The Council shall meet a minimum of four (4) times per State fiscal year (July 1 through June 30). Meetings will generally be held on a Thursday at 2:00 p.m. at various locations in McHenry County. The meeting dates and locations will be determined for the following year at the last meeting of the year.

Meeting Notice: Written or electronic meeting notices must be delivered to members a minimum of seven (7) calendar days prior to a Council meeting. Meeting agendas and supporting materials shall be delivered to members a minimum of three (3) business days prior to a Council meeting.

Meeting Cancellation: A regularly scheduled Council meeting may be canceled at the discretion of the Chairman if no items of business need to be discussed.

Special Meetings: Special Council meetings may be called as needed by the Chairman. Notice of any special Council meeting shall be delivered to members a minimum of three (3) business days prior to a special Council meeting.

ARTICLE VIII - VOTING

Seven (7) members shall constitute a quorum. A Council meeting must have a quorum to conduct business and vote on motions or requests/propositions.

Each member shall have one (1) vote. Members must be present at a Council meeting to have their vote counted and recorded.

All motions or requests/propositions before the Council shall be decided by a simple majority of the members present.

ARTICLE IX - AMENDMENTS

Proposed amendments to the bylaws of the Council shall be delivered to all members a minimum of seven (7) calendar days before a Council meeting and may be adopted at any Council meeting upon the affirmative two thirds (2/3) super majority vote of the members present.

APPENDIX A

COUNCIL MEMBER LIST

The following municipalities/county are members of the McHenry County Council of Mayors:

- Village of Algonquin
- Village of Barrington Hills
- Village of Bull Valley
- Village of Cary
- City of Crystal Lake
- Village of Fox River Grove
- Village of Greenwood
- City of Harvard
- Village of Hebron
- Village of Holiday Hills
- Village of Huntley
- Village of Johnsburg
- Village of Lake in the Hills
- Village of Lakemoor
- Village of Lakewood
- City of Marengo
- Village of McCullom Lake
- City of McHenry
- Village of Oakwood Hills
- Village of Port Barrington
- Village of Prairie Grove
- Village of Richmond
- Village of Ringwood
- Village of Spring Grove
- Village of Trout Valley
- Village of Union
- Village of Wonder Lake
- City of Woodstock
- McHenry County